*Sigh*

After positive responses from my This is…. Fallout: New Vegas, I had plans to work on a second one based off of Just Cause 2, and who doesn’t love the chaos that is Just Cause 2? Read more to find out about how Movie Maker sucks and a few things I did.

LETS WATCH THE VIDEO FIRST

(The video has been currently reviewed due to a major error by Windows Movie Maker that fails to display the credits. It’ll be back up shortly)

This is…. Just Cause 2 is now available for public watch! The final video doesn’t make too many subtle differences from the unfinished version but

LETS RANT ABOUT MOVIE MAKER

Unlike the first This is…. Montage, Just Cause 2 took quite awhile to work on. I had a part of the video done (The Credits, Introduction, as well as a entire sequence that appears in the final video) and later recorded both the footage (at JC2) and edited the video at the same day. You could say I was busy and didn’t get as much work on it until I found the time to start recording. It took me three hours to edit and construct something that could had taken me one hour instead. It’s frustrating for me because none of this would had happened if I wasn’t using Windows Movie Maker. Despite it looking simpler to use, it’s newest version is broken and fails to work in any way possible. Despite making higher quality videos the new version (Released for Windows 7 a few years ago), playing the videos in the editor has issues, it takes forever to load the video properly in the preview screen and it lags constantly. The program freezes a lot when moving things around, there are less options for recording sound and it liked to crash on me. A lot.

Now generally I’m not known for good quality videos (especially when it comes to editing) but I’m using these montages as a way to improve my skills. While for the most part I think I did a better job with this than the Fallout one, I had an even more miserable time making the video. In order to get sequences where different songs and messages are being played I had to make separate videos, convert them to a video file and place it in. Because I can’t easily change that video when it’s placed in the full thing, I had to do this multiple times to ensure it worked out great. It sorta did but placing in the video screwed up the music that was playing in the final video, so I had to fix that. I left one glaring problem in the final video because trying to fix it took me 20+ minutes and did lead me to losing a lot of my progress on that video.

LETS TALK ABOUT MAKING THE DAMN VIDEO

Regarding the actual video, the footage I recorded were based off of a Witness mission in JC2. When recording I got killed at one point and had to redo that section again. That whole part is still in the video, except now stuffed with a 30 second sequence done intentionally to waste the viewer’s time. It was done for comedy’s sake and it’s my favorite part of the video.

A similar situation is at the beginning, where the scene in which Rico gets hit by a car (And Mmm whatcha say starts appearing)

At one particular moment when the music calms down, I took a clip I originally used for my channel trailer. At two separate moments, I took clips that occurred before and after the event and made them last for split seconds in order to fit with strong, montage-like beats. I ended up using a few of these clips in another similar sequence again, because I couldn’t get enough footage at the time.

Due to Movie Maker, I lost half of my progress and redid the last half. For the most part the video plays in a chronological-like order, taking place in a faction mission.

The video took less time than This is…. Fallout: New Vegas. It was for the most part finished on Friday, but was patched and fixed up late night Sunday.

With summer ending (And movie maker being a jerk), I have a feeling I won’t be able to work on a This is…. video every week, or heck, every 2 weeks. This stuff takes one long sitting to do and I’m at the point where I’m starting to lose that time. I’ll definitely make more of these and I’m already getting stuff set up for This is…. Counter-Strike GO and This is…. Naruto Shippuden Ultimate Ninja Storm 3. This stuff will come in the future, don’t worry! I’m just gonna take a short break from it due to this project surprisingly stressing me out.

With that, Nikoback is out! Enjoy the video!